Back

What is the domain status clientTransferProhibited?

If you have ever transferred a domain name, you may be familiar with the domain status clientTransferProhibited. This particular status code can complicate the transfer of a domain to a new registrar, often leaving people puzzled about the reasons behind it. In this comprehensive guide, we will delve into the specifics of domain status clientTransferProhibited, shedding light on what it means, why you would activate it, and steps to address it.

Introduction to domain status codes

What does a domain status mean?

Domain status codes, also known as Extensible Provision Protocol (EPP) domain codes, are an essential part of domain name management. These codes the current state of a domain within the registry's database. Domain statuses codes were introduced by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), the authority that governs domain names. They can provide critical information about the domain's operational status, dictating what actions can or cannot be taken in regards to a particular domain name. You can find domain statuses in the Whois database.

Deep dive into clientTransferProhibited

What does clientTransferProhibited mean?

The domain status clientTransferProhibited prevents a domain from being transferred from one domain registrar to another. Common reasons for setting this status include protecting the domain owner's rights and preventing unauthorized or accidental transfers. Many registrars use the terms domain lock, transfer lock or registrar lock to refer to the action of having clientTransferProhibited enabled.

If a domain lock is active, any attempt to transfer the domain to a different registrar will be automatically denied. This can be particularly reassuring for domain owners, as it adds a layer of security against domain hijacking or disputes over domain ownership. However, if you intend to legitimately transfer your domain to another registrar or sell the domain, you should first make sure that this status is not active.

Why is your domain status clientTransferProhibited?

Many domain registrars automatically apply a domain lock when a customer registers a new domain or renews an existing one. They do this to automatically protect their customers against any potential security breaches or unapproved changes.

It's also worth noting that some registrars implement this status by default to comply with regulatory requirements or their own security protocols. Besides registrars, domain owners can also enable this status by themselves through their registrar's control panel.

Embedded Asset

Implications of the clientTransferProhibited status

How clientTransferprohibited affects your domain

The clientTransferProhibited status has several implications for your domain. Primarily, it ensures that the domain cannot be transferred to another registrar without your explicit permission, which can be seen as a safeguard against unauthorized transfers. While having a domain lock enabled does not affect the day-to-day operations of your website or email services, it can cause complications if you're unaware of its presence during a planned transfer or sale of the domain.

All domain transfers are initiated with a so-called transfer request. If you are not using a domain lock, this means that anyone could look up your domain online and submit a transfer request for it. Of course, this does not mean that your domain can automatically be transferred by other people - if you do not validate the transfer, nothing will happen. However, it can be annoying to deal with unwanted transfer requests coming in, and if you are not careful, you may accidentally verify an unwanted transfer that slipped through the cracks. If you want to learn more about how domain transfers work, take a look at this guide.

Turning off a domain lock

To resolve a domain lock, you will need to log into your domain registrar's control panel and locate the domain lock or transfer lock setting. From there, you can choose to disable the lock, which should lift the clientTransferProhibited status. However, it's important to note that some registrars may require additional verification steps to ensure the request is legitimate, which can include confirming your identity or providing email authorization.

To unlock your domain name at Openprovider, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to the control panel.

  2. Go to "Domains Overview" in the left-hand menu.

  3. Select your domain in the list.

  4. Select "unlock domain".

  5. Your domain is unlocked and ready to be transferred!

Embedded Asset

Exploring other domain statuses

Besides clientTransferProhibited, there are many other possible domain statuses that your domain name may have. We explore a few of them below.

OK domain status

When a domain is marked as "OK", it signifies that the domain is registered, has not expired, and is fully functional. An active status means that the domain is operating without any issues and that it is correctly involved in the DNS, making it part of the Internet.

Inactive domain status

An "Inactive" domain status shows that a domain is not connected to the DNS and, as a result, cannot be used to host a website or email service. This status typically arises when a domain has been registered, but the domain owner has not yet added the necessary DNS records. It can also occur when the domain has expired or been suspended.

redemptionPeriod domain status

This is the status that your domain enters when it has expired. The duration of this period is always 30 days, after which the domain will enter pendingDelete status and eventually be deleted. While the redemptionPeriod domain status is active, you can still restore your domain to prevent it from being deleted. However, you will have to pay a special restore fee on top of the renewal fee to get your domain name back online.

pendingCreate, pendingRenew, pendingDelete, pendingRestore, pendingUpdate and pendingTransfer domain status

These status codes indicate that you have requested a particular operation to be performed on your domain, which is currently pending. This can concern a domain renewal, deletion, restore, update, or transfer. Be careful with the pendingCreate status code: this status code is only valid when you register a new TLD that is not broadly available yet, such as during a Sunrise Phase. If you see this status in any other case, you should contact your registrar.

clientDeleteProhibited and clientUpdateProhibited domain status

These domain statuses work very similarly to clientTransferProhibited. Instead of prohibiting transfers, they indicate that any requests for a domain update or domain deletion are automatically rejected. Just like clientTransferProhibited, you can enable and lift these locks yourself through your registrar's control panel.

Transfer your domain today

Are you looking to transfer your domain? Learn all about how the domain transfer process works and what steps are involved in our domain transfer guide.

How long does DNS propagation take?

More topics like this

How to delete a domain name?

Whether you're looking to retire an old website, rebrand your online presence, or simply let go of a domain that is no longer serving your needs, this step-by-step guide will walk you through the full process of deleting a domain name.

Explore

What is domain forwarding?

Domain forwarding, also known as URL forwarding or domain redirection, is a service that lets you redirect visitors from one domain name to another.

Explore

What is the domain lifecycle?

The domain lifecycle is a term that refers to the series of stages that a domain name goes through: from its initial registration to its eventual expiration, release and possible re-registration.

Explore

How to transfer a domain name?

A domain transfer is the process of moving a registered domain name from one domain registrar to another.

Explore

Loading...